Friday, 21 January 2011


Crows recognise individual human faces and can hold a grudge if you treat them badly.

Dr. Bob Wright
Illustration Course Leader
School of ADM
CCI Faculty
Portsmouth University

The Red List

The Red List

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species. From its small beginning, the IUCN Red List has grown in size and complexity and now plays an increasingly prominent role in guiding conservation activities of governments, NGOs and scientific institutions. The introduction in 1994 of a scientifically rigorous approach to determine risks of extinction that is applicable to all species, has become a world standard. In order to produce the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™, the IUCN Species Programme working with the IUCN Survival Commission (SSC) and with members of IUCN draws on and mobilizes a network of scientists and partner organizations working in almost every country in the world, who collectively hold what is likely the most complete scientific knowledge base on the biology and conservation status of species.

Monday, 17 January 2011

Sea life centre - Southsea

It does cost a bit to go in, try to angle for student discounts.

They have all types of fish; exotic marine (clownfish, lionfish, sea horses) also octopus, rayfish, larger sea fish, otters and a chameleon, frogs, lizards. It might be worth calling them first to check the creature you want is there.

Blue Reef Aquarium,
Clarence Esplanade, Southsea, PORTSMOUTH,
Hampshire, PO53PB   
Tel: 02392 875222


Cumberland House - Southsea's Natural History Museum

Cumberland House Natural History Museum
(Eastern Parade, Southsea, adjacent to Canoe Lake. Free Admission)

Some examples of taxidermied animals can be found here (upstairs) as well as live fish, crickets, there's also a butterfly house at the back (although they're asleep at the moment).
There are quite a few birds on view, also a fox, mice, rabbit, badger, weasels, seals and insects.

Sunday, 16 January 2011


Animalia - one of the five kingdoms which classify the natural world.

The other four being; 'Monera'. 'Prostisa', 'Fungi' and 'Plantae'.